Top Gate

Aviation & Pilots Forums, discuss topics that interest Pilots and Aviation Enthusiasts. Looking for information on how to become a pilot? Check out our Free online pilot exams and flight training resources section.
Colonel

[img width=500 height=250][/img]

Top Gate, Top Gate, Top Gate.

Pulled through into a download looping vertical
maneuver without enough altitude, and incidentally
too much airspeed.

Exactly the same error as the four-bar over in
England in the Hunter at Shoreham.

How many times does the same mistake have to
be made?

I know I'm a stupid fucking pilot and a complete
moron with no qualifications, skill, knowledge or
experience, and a BAD PERSON to boot.  I get
that, ok?

But why is a fucking idiot like me keep pointing
out such basic errors by the superstars?!

If you fly acro at the surface, missing your top
gate is like not landing on the runway, and landing
beside it instead.  Worse, in fact.

Anyone remember the time the F-16 missed his
top gate by 1000 feet in Colorado?

[youtube][/youtube]

As an airshow performer, you don't like to be
scheduled after this.  Hard act to follow, I
don't care how much smoke and flares you have.

[img width=500 height=325]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/ ... irshow.jpg[/img]

Colonel

[img width=500 height=58][/img]

Arlo Speer and his gang of fools in Tower C
must be so proud of their legacy!  They are
convinced that touching a cloud in flight is
worse than a violent, fatal impact with the
ground.

I sort of see where they are coming from,
though.  Any time a TC Inspector enters
cloud on an IFR flight plan, generally at
least one CADORs needs to be filed for
the loss of control resulting in a failure
to comply with the clearance.

And since TC Inspectors are the hottest
sticks in town, if they can't fly straight
and level near a cloud, then absolutely
no one is capable of flying acro near one.
Fendermandan