Checking Yourself Out In New Types

Flying Tips and Advice from The Colonel!
Colonel

When I was a kid, I read all the books.  The super-pilots could jump into a
type they hadn't flown before, and off they'd go.

I'm not one of those people.  I just bang bits for a living.

But sometime, you owe it to yourself to read Bob Hoover's Autobiography.  He
signed my copy for me, at OSH, which means an awful lot to me.  He escaped
from a prison camp in WWII by jumping into a German airplane and flying off in it. 
Much later, Bob jumped into an aerobatic airplane at a Russian WAC that he had
never flown before, and did surface acro in it.  Only Yuri Gagarin was able to rescue
him from the enraged bureaucrats, which I sympathized with.  Bob thought my friend
Freddy put on an awesome P-51 aerobatic display at OSH.

I digress.  Bob is a God amongst men.  A real hero, and the best pilot I ever met.
You can see why the bureaucrats hated him so deeply.

Back to my world.  Many times, I have ended up checking myself out in new, strange
types because no one would fly them.  All the hot-air types scatter like cockroaches when
the lights come on.  Few are up for the moment.  Blowhard cowards.

One fun airplane I checked myself out on was the Piaggio Royal Gull, which was an
Italian twin pusher geared amphib flying boat taildragger.  I am not making this up.

Not many left.  One was left in Canada,  when the owner left permanently with the
babysitter for Belize, enraging the wife more than you will ever know.  I thought it
was a grand idea to fly it there, but it was broken.  First, we had to fix it, then I had
to fly it, and the local FTU didn't have an instructor with time on type, which I found
surprising. 

Aren't you supposed to get a dual checkout on a new type?

Anyways, it was uneventful.  A bit of a trick sorting out the trims to get it to fly straight,
felt like a Seabee.  I think it was out of C of G with a pilot and full gas.  Bizarre.  I loved it.