C-GERR YAM April 2/2024

Aircraft Accident & Crash Investigation Topics
Colonel

On April 2, 2024, a training aircraft from Sault College landed hard on a runway at Sault Ste. Marie Airport. As a result, emergency crews had to respond and the runway was closed. The trainer and trainee pilot were injured and taken to a hospital. The aircraft, identified as a single-engine Zlin with the registration code C-GERR, sustained significant damage

Hey man, I'm a student at Sault College & I figured I'd give you some context for GERR's crash, if you'd like to add it to the description.

When tower said "whiskey approved" that's them allowing us to do a simulated engine failure on the go. (Instead of being cleared for the option we have specific procedures so tower knows what we're gonna do) So what happened is as they were on the climb-out, the instructor pulled power & they attempted the nose-over for the simulated engine out landing. However, as this pushover (usually up to 0G) happened, the wind cut out & they stalled at roughly 50'. Both the nose & left main gear collapsed. Both student & instructor are okay although pretty banged up. We used a wheel loader & tow straps to carry it back to the hanger.

If you do choose to add/paraphrase any of that, I'd like to remain anonymous.
Remember, stick and rudder skill isn't important any more. It's all about button-pushing. You're a "systems manager" now.

Engine failures after takeoff simply aren't something we need to train for any more.

As God as my witness, I thought turkeys could fly.
Slick Goodlin