Best Taildragger for Two

Flight Training and topics related to getting your licence or ratings.
Gravel Digger

I'd like to run my scenario by you guys.

Me: 35, almost nil tailwheel time. Willing to work with right instructor to become proficient/confident, no cut corners.
Pilot for living, 6000+ hours northern stuff. Living in Southern Ontario, Banana Belt, wine country thereabouts. Great schedule, great paycheque.

Budget: up to $40,000 for a safe, reliable, low BS aircraft. I'm not a mechanic, I'm not an engineer. I'd do what I can but defer to a professional, always.

Looking to take myself + 1 pax (~ 200lbs each) for VFR, grass strips, pleasure flying. Range is unimportant. Comfort is nice for pax.
Avionics: One good com would be nice, (I loathe people with shit coms and it sounds like you're ordering at a Wendy's drive through).
Nav: I can read maps, it's fun.

I'd like to have fun in an airplane again; basically I am looking to do this RIGHT or not at all.

Your thoughts and insight are welcomed!

Liquid Charlie

PA12 with flap kit and 150 hp
Gravel Digger

Well I have 5 hours in a PA-12, so that is a good recommend, one with flaps and 150hp might be a tough find though!
Colonel

The right homebuilt.  Save yourself
beaucoup $$$ in parts and mtce.

PS A good comm comes from a good
antenna, which is not always easy in
a fabric airplane, which might not have
a ground plane.

Google "marconi antenna".
Colonel

There are several ways to categorize 2 seat taildraggers:

certified vs homebuilt
metal vs tube+fabric
electrical vs non-electrical
tandem vs side-by-side
acro vs non-acro
Lycoming vs Continental
high-wing vs low-wing
stick vs control column

Pick which of the above is best for you, but ...

You need a hangar for tube+fabric so
it's more expensive, really.

Not a lot of people like non-electrical
(hand-bomb) so there are some good
deals there.

I mentioned a while back that a good
friend of mine was given this adorable
PA-11: